We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website 
    
 

Product reviews: Tank Driving Taster eVoucher

Tank Driving Taster eVoucher

Tank Driving Taster eVoucher
5 stars
 108 review(s)
4 stars
 7 review(s)
3 stars: 
 0 review(s)
2 stars
 1 review(s)
1 stars: 
 0 review(s)
129 Results Found. Displaying Results 26 - 50

Rob

Rob

Oct 17, 2019



Tank taster session. Went with a couple of mates, all in our 40s and we loved it. Made us feel like school boys again! Happy to recommend to anyone.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ben Foster

Ben Foster

Oct 10, 2019



Loved this experience, travelled a long way to the venue and I wasn’t disappointed. The staff are excellent and friendly and the museum, although small has a lot of fascinating exhibits. I would highly recommend this but be warned, it will leave you wanting more!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Richard Pemble

Richard Pemble

Oct 9, 2019



Would like to say a massive thank you to the staff for all the help in surprising my friend when i had already book an experiance drive with them even though it was short notice. The staff were warm and welcoming on our arrival and were easy and friendly to talk to. I would highly recommend a visit to armourgeddon and experiance what they have to offer, and will be arranging another visit as soon as I can. Again thank you to all the staff for making it such a wonderful day.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Terry

Terry

Oct 1, 2019



Had a brilliant time, personal friendly and looked after us, very informative, made sure we had a great time.What more could you want, would recommend. Thanks Terry
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Malcolm

Malcolm

Oct 1, 2019



A great experience - would fully recommend it. Now that I am a fully qualified tank driver I will return to do the paint balling!!!!

Thank you one and all

Malcolm
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Darren Symons

Darren Symons

Sep 30, 2019



I was given the tank driving taster as a 50th birthday gift. Didn't know what to expect but on arrival I was informed what the day would consist of. Once kitted out in the PPE supplied it was off to the tank. A full safety brief was given and a description of the tank and it's workings. It was then time to hop into the driving seat. The instructor was excellent and gave a full brief of the tanks operation. Two laps of fun was now to be had, one lap with the hatch in the open position and then the second with the hatch down. It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and some thing I had wanted to do for a while. I even got to reverse into a parking space. What a rush. I would totally recommend this experience to anyone who has ever thought about getting into a tank.
My wife and son watched the while thing and you even have professional photos taken whilst going round. The museum is fantastic for militaria buffs and my son had a great time investigating all the weapons and vehicles on show. A fabulous day out.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Darren Seaton

Darren Seaton

Sep 30, 2019



Great experience. Highly Recomended.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)
Vyrn Evans

Vyrn Evans

Sep 24, 2019



A very enjoyable and certainly different experience. A good, clear, succinct instructor. The Museum is also a treasure trove of memorabilia.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chantal

Chantal Confirmed Purchase

Sep 9, 2019



Had an amazing experience yesterday. The tutor was absolutely brilliant and make the experience seem like a walk in the park. Thank you!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Sue

Sue Confirmed Purchase

Sep 4, 2019



What a fabulous day, very informative and enjoyable - this was a family 50th birthday celebration and we can highly recommend to everyone.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
LiamO’Driscoll

LiamO’Driscoll

Sep 3, 2019



I had my tester day on Sunday 1st September this year, it was a birthday present from my Son and his wife.
What a great experience!!! Professionally set up and operated. Shane was the perfect instructor and great to have a sense of humour he gave us all the confidence to drive the tank.
The bonus was the museum, plenty to see.
A great few hours, many thanks.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Dave Ginnety

Dave Ginnety

Sep 2, 2019



Excellent day and very informative
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Brendan Walker

Brendan Walker

Sep 2, 2019



The Tank Driver taster is the perfect experience for anyone with even a passing interest in military armour to feel the raw power of these armoured beasts of war and understand the work that our soldiers do in a safe, controlled environment.

The tank itself is an FV432, an Armoured Personnel Carrier developed in the '60s that is now mostly phased out of front-line military usage but is used in some capacity, mostly as a field ambulance to extract wounded soldiers from the battlefield.

The FV432 is very easy to drive, with a semi-automatic transmission and steering that uses a spur gear differential, allowing steering with 2 levers that manage the speed of each track. The 240 BHP Rolls-Royce engine delivers an intimidating and powerful rumble that really makes the experience of driving a tank even better.

The instructor was incredibly professional and knowledgeable about the machinery we were operating, providing an interesting, running commentary of the use of the FV across the world while also providing helpful guidance on driving safely.

We were given 2 laps each of the Armourgeddon circuit in total, one of which was with the driver's hatch open, and one of which had the hatch closed, introducing the claustrophobic conditions tank drivers were expected to perform in during battle. Field of view was dramatically reduced with the hatch down and only the periscope to look through, however it was still simple enough to drive around the circuit.

This activity is group-based, so when you're not driving the FV432, you'll be sitting in the turret, which is an experience in and of itself!

I could not recommend this experience enough. Tank driving experiences are incredibly expensive elsewhere, but Armourgeddon provide an affordable, educational, incredible experience that I would thoroughly encourage anyone to try out at least once.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Colin

Colin

Aug 28, 2019



A great experience. I would have given 5 stars if the course had been more challenging.Staff were great and so was museum.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Paul

Paul

Aug 27, 2019



Excellent experience for my 50th birthday present, something i’ve been wanting to do, friendly people, would have been nice a full day, but can’t complain.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Moira Chapman

Moira Chapman

Aug 21, 2019



The tank driving taster was bought for me as an anniversary present and it really was great fun. instructors were so friendly, instructions easy and actually surprisingly easy to drive. Loved it! Museum was good too
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Paul Smith

Paul Smith

Aug 14, 2019



Brilliant experience, would liked to have longer or a bigger track but still brill!!!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Leanme

Leanme Confirmed Purchase

Aug 13, 2019



I booked this for my partner & he throughly enjoyed it.
The staff were pukka & I couldnt have asked for a better experience for him.

Thank you
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Chris

Chris

Jul 30, 2019



Absolutely fantastic experience. Highly recommended.
Very entertaining, knowledgeable and professional staff.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Peter Smith

Peter Smith

Jul 23, 2019



Had a great afternoon at Armourgeddon. Staff were friendly and helpful, the tank driving was great although over very quickly. Would have liked a more challenging course.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Karen Webster

Karen Webster

Jul 23, 2019



Had a fantastic time. Really brilliant afternoon. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Good commentary during the driving session although I must admit I didn't take it all because I was concentrating so hard. The photographs were excellent and reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend ti's activity
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Ginny

Ginny

Jul 23, 2019



Fab experience driving 'Ginger' round the course. Many thanks to George who instructed our team and made sure that we were all confident and enjoyed our time behind the controls. I even got to park it! My partner enjoyed the tank museum too.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Stewart  Hartopp

Stewart Hartopp

Jul 22, 2019



Had a great afternoon on my tank driving taster got there early and had a look around museum first a really good museum for a small one tank driving was excellent we had George (tools) as guide he explained all clearly all aspects of the driving also a bit of background into their operation they supply all of relevant kit as coveralls and helmets a good operation all round thanks guys
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Alan Davis

Alan Davis

Jul 1, 2019



Our Taster session was a present to our Grandson who normally lives in Japan, where nothing like Armourgeddon exists. He absolutely loved it (as did my wife and I as passengers) and now talks of little else.
Everything about the trip matched or exceeded our expectations and great credit goes to the management and staff for creating such a wonderful experience. We will be back!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)
Fred jackson

Fred jackson

Jun 24, 2019



Had a fantastic time ,staff very friendly,well run and safe.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)