We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website 
    
 

Products reviews

623 Results Found. Displaying Results 1 - 25

David Beck

David Beck, about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Sep 17, 2019



My wife bought this experience for me for my 50th Birthday as a surprise and oh my word what a surprise is was. It was an absolutely fantastic day, the team were brilliant and special thanks to Will for being an amazing and patient instructor. The tank was great fun to drive around and I was absolutely grinning ear to ear after my experience. The museum is excellent and you can see the care and attention that has gone in to restoring and maintaining the exhibits.

I got to drive a tank, it was sunny and I haven't stopped grinning yet.

I can't recommend these guys highly enough.

Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Simon Taylor

Simon Taylor , about Tank Paintball Battles eVoucher Confirmed Purchase

Sep 10, 2019



Brilliant day. Interesting museum. Great instructor (Alex) who made the experience really enjoyable with his enthusiasm and knowledge. Well worth doing again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Dai

Dai, about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher Confirmed Purchase

Sep 9, 2019



Had this as a red letter day from my wife as a Christmas present. What a fantastic day, she was passenger for the day so made it doubly special. Our instructor was brilliant and had a great sense of humour, first time I'd ever driven anything like this and he made it seem so easy. Had a great circuit which included a pretty scary downhill and up which was the high spot of the experience. Reversing it blind to park up was pretty awesome too. Superb.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Tony Scott

Tony Scott, about Tank Paintball Battles eVoucher Confirmed Purchase

Sep 9, 2019



This was bought for me as a birthday present and I had a brilliant time. The instructors were friendly and very helpful, and our team was made up of three individuals but he spent enough time with each of us to make sure we all had a really enjoyable day. I was also very surprised to see so many tanks all warming up as there must have been about 8 or 10 out on the field that day. I was also impressed with the museum, it wasn't the largest I've visited but it had some really interesting exhibits with a lot laid out in a diorama format.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Chantal

Chantal , about Tank Driving Taster eVoucher Confirmed Purchase

Sep 9, 2019



Had an amazing experience yesterday. The tutor was absolutely brilliant and make the experience seem like a walk in the park. Thank you!
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Sue

Sue, about Tank Driving Taster eVoucher Confirmed Purchase

Sep 4, 2019



What a fabulous day, very informative and enjoyable - this was a family 50th birthday celebration and we can highly recommend to everyone.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

LiamO’Driscoll

LiamO’Driscoll, about Tank Driving Taster eVoucher

Sep 3, 2019



I had my tester day on Sunday 1st September this year, it was a birthday present from my Son and his wife.
What a great experience!!! Professionally set up and operated. Shane was the perfect instructor and great to have a sense of humour he gave us all the confidence to drive the tank.
The bonus was the museum, plenty to see.
A great few hours, many thanks.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Marion  Modeste

Marion Modeste , about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Sep 2, 2019



A birthday treat from my fiancé. Something I’ve been wanting to do for ages and I wasn’t disappointed! Had the best experience... Charles, my instructor, was friendly and helpful - as were all the team! Museum was an added bonus. I’d recommend it 101% ... Loved It
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Dave Ginnety

Dave Ginnety, about Tank Driving Taster eVoucher

Sep 2, 2019



Excellent day and very informative
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

David Smart

David Smart, about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Sep 2, 2019



Had a great day, had 2 tank experiences bought for me for my 60th so decided to book both on the same day as it is 2hr journey each way. Great going round first time but even better the second. Joe and Alex were very good instructors and made everything really clear. Definitely do it again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Brendan Walker

Brendan Walker, about Tank Driving Taster eVoucher

Sep 2, 2019



The Tank Driver taster is the perfect experience for anyone with even a passing interest in military armour to feel the raw power of these armoured beasts of war and understand the work that our soldiers do in a safe, controlled environment.

The tank itself is an FV432, an Armoured Personnel Carrier developed in the '60s that is now mostly phased out of front-line military usage but is used in some capacity, mostly as a field ambulance to extract wounded soldiers from the battlefield.

The FV432 is very easy to drive, with a semi-automatic transmission and steering that uses a spur gear differential, allowing steering with 2 levers that manage the speed of each track. The 240 BHP Rolls-Royce engine delivers an intimidating and powerful rumble that really makes the experience of driving a tank even better.

The instructor was incredibly professional and knowledgeable about the machinery we were operating, providing an interesting, running commentary of the use of the FV across the world while also providing helpful guidance on driving safely.

We were given 2 laps each of the Armourgeddon circuit in total, one of which was with the driver's hatch open, and one of which had the hatch closed, introducing the claustrophobic conditions tank drivers were expected to perform in during battle. Field of view was dramatically reduced with the hatch down and only the periscope to look through, however it was still simple enough to drive around the circuit.

This activity is group-based, so when you're not driving the FV432, you'll be sitting in the turret, which is an experience in and of itself!

I could not recommend this experience enough. Tank driving experiences are incredibly expensive elsewhere, but Armourgeddon provide an affordable, educational, incredible experience that I would thoroughly encourage anyone to try out at least once.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

James Sandwell

James Sandwell, about Adult & Child Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Sep 2, 2019



My son aged 8 and myself both had a great session with Ben the instructor who explained everything and made it great fun. The museum was also an unexpected addition to the day and worth a look round.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Jacqui Homer

Jacqui Homer, about Tank Paintball Battles eVoucher

Aug 29, 2019



Brilliant day, Brilliant Hosts. Such Fun, would definitely come back. Highly recommended AAAAA
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Adam Jary

Adam Jary, about Tank Paintball Battles eVoucher

Aug 28, 2019



Great day out, and a very different experience from day to day life, great fun, and loved driving the tank like I owned it, and rattling my mates around in the back. :)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Lee Bailey

Lee Bailey, about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Aug 28, 2019



I bought this for my husband for Christmas, he loved it. Great staff, well looked after. Museum bigger than we had imagined.
And he would do it again.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Colin

Colin, about Tank Driving Taster eVoucher

Aug 28, 2019



A great experience. I would have given 5 stars if the course had been more challenging.Staff were great and so was museum.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Paul

Paul, about Tank Driving Taster eVoucher

Aug 27, 2019



Excellent experience for my 50th birthday present, something i’ve been wanting to do, friendly people, would have been nice a full day, but can’t complain.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Kim Gunning

Kim Gunning, about Tank Paintball Battles eVoucher

Aug 27, 2019



I had never considered driving a tank. However, I was given a voucher for my birthday and decided to book the tank paintballing experience. I was nervous initially as I don't know one end of a tank from the other! What a great day I had. Dave the trainer was fantastic. He explained the health and safety rules and took us through a guided tour of the tank. I sat in the turret for the first lap and then I actually drove it, firstly with the lid up and then with the lid down. We then had a practice with the paintballs. We then had a break to talk tactics for the forthcoming battle. This also gave us the chance to eye up the opposition. For the battle itself I was in charge of aiming. I was pretty poor as we only scored 5 hits out of 12! It was exciting though and Dave’s shouting added to the experience! On finishing, photos were available to buy which are a great way to re-live the experience at home. I met 2 lovely people who shared the tank with me and my husband was able to watch from the viewing area. Thank you to Dave for ensuring that I had a day that I wont forget.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Edward R

Edward R, about Tank Paintball Battles eVoucher

Aug 27, 2019



Great experience, pretty good price too. I would like to see a tank or apc that kids and adults could get in/on. Of course with obligatory disclaimers.... Nice display of vehicals in museum too.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Peter Glossop

Peter Glossop, about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Aug 27, 2019



What a great day encountered both by my Australian girlfriend and myself, whom had great fun.
Staff all really friendly and helpful too.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Moira Chapman

Moira Chapman, about Tank Driving Taster eVoucher

Aug 21, 2019



The tank driving taster was bought for me as an anniversary present and it really was great fun. instructors were so friendly, instructions easy and actually surprisingly easy to drive. Loved it! Museum was good too
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Sarah Smart

Sarah Smart, about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Aug 20, 2019



Bought as a 40th birthday present for my husband. Fantastic experience, really friendly staff and very impressed by the museum on site too.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (1) / No (0)

Finbar Willis

Finbar Willis, about Tank Paintball Battles eVoucher

Aug 20, 2019



I received a birthday present of an Armourgeddon gift voucher. I chatted to family and friends and five others decided to join me.
So on a bright Sunday morning we took off from home and arrived in plenty of time for our slot.
The staff were welcoming, and after signing our disclaimers we had time to walk around the museum. I was able to tell war y stories of my time repairing the "pigs" and "sarrycans" in the 70/80s.
Off then to get into some NBC suits to "keep clean" and then into our AVF for play time.
I was in with my son and daughter and we each took a turn in driving then the loader and aiming positions. We all did well and decided who was to take what roll in the up coming shoot out against my brothers AFV.
Driving parallel to each other, we fired 12 rounds each from 6 stands.
10 hits, Yea, have we won? Nope, Bruv had scored 10 also. So with honers even, we debused, changed clothing and went to see our photos which are of a very high quality.
Back home for a pub dinner and to put the feet up.
And so to bed for a happy weekend warrior.

Cheers Team Armourgeddon :o)
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Beverley Grisenthwaite

Beverley Grisenthwaite, about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Aug 20, 2019



I bought a tank driving experience for my husband's birthday. Wow, what a fabulous day. We arrived early and spent some time walking round the museum and watching some of the other visitors driving around the track. The conditions were perfect. Bright sunshine after heavy rain so the track was very muddy with plenty of puddles. We were called to kit ourselves out in clean overalls and helmets. George introduced himself to us. What a friendly and knowledgeable young man he is, an asset to Armourgeddon. We were surprised at how smooth the first lap was with George driving the tank. Then it was Dave's turn! The first lap was fine but the second lap!!! I couldn't stop laughing,He'd obviously settled into it and put his foot down. Oh my goodness, it was so bumpy but great fun. Fortunately he slowed down for the third lap. My hubby thoroughly enjoyed the experience and would definitely recommend booking. An ideal gift for someone who doesn't need any more 'stuff' for a present. Thanks to all for making this a memorable and enjoyable day.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)

Claire

Claire, about Tank Driving Experience eVoucher

Aug 19, 2019



Had great fun, the instructor was friendly and driving the tank was brilliant! My boys really enjoyed being able to ride in the tank too. Would highly recommend.
Loading...Was the above review useful to you? Yes (0) / No (0)